Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Replacing a Hard Drive question. (Quick!!!!!)

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Replacing a Hard Drive question. (Quick!!!!!)

Old 12-21-00, 01:01 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Location: Home of the 2009 Stanley Cup & Vince Lombardi trophy!!!
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OK, I want to replace my 15 gig drive with a 40 gig. How can I get everything from my 15 to my 40???????? Also, how and where do I get to the option to make a back-up floppy "BOOT" disc??????? I will need this to format my new hard drive, right?????

Hey, don't laugh, I'm still new at this sh!t!!!!!!

Please answer quickly, I'm at wits end!!!!

------------------
The above statement is MY opinion, and in no way is DVDTalk, or any of it's affiliates, responsible for the views that I have posted here.

[email protected]
My Tracker list!
BAN NETWORK TV!!
...I'm not wearing any pants!!!!
"If I hear one more noise in here, I'm crackin' skulls!"
Old 12-21-00, 01:09 AM
X
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Check out ghost or drivecopy or other utilities like those.
Old 12-21-00, 01:11 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

quote:<HR>Originally posted by X:
Check out ghost or drivecopy or other utilities like those.
<HR>

How does ghost work?? Doesn't it save it to your hard drive??? How do you get it from one to the other????
Old 12-21-00, 01:13 AM
X
Administrator

As I recall, you would save to the new drive and restore from there, or save to the existing one (if you have room) and restore to the new one.

It's been a while. I used something from Norton (Symantec) that was free for 30 days. Only needed it for a few hours and it worked fine.
Old 12-21-00, 01:16 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

my problem is: I don't have room for two hard drives, so going from one to the other is impossible.

so how can I get the info from one to the other?
Old 12-21-00, 01:17 AM
X
Administrator