Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Is My New Computer Messed Up?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Is My New Computer Messed Up?

Old 12-19-00, 11:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I just bought a new desktop from Dell. It has 256 MB of RAM with an 866 processor.

When you restart the computer or turn it on after it has been shut down, the desktop icons take a long time to load. (When I say a long time, I mean a few seconds) A small, white image loads until the regular icon loads up. Sometimes it takes a couple of seconds for the icons to load, sometimes they all load immediately.

I am no computer expert, but would like to no if this is a concern. I would hate to spend all of that money on a machine that doesn't run properly.

Thanks,
CH

[This message has been edited by chays99 (edited December 19, 2000).]
Old 12-19-00, 01:08 PM

How many icons do you have on your desktop? If you have too many, that would happen. If that is the case, all you need to do is clean up your desktop.
Old 12-19-00, 01:38 PM
Mod Emeritus

quote:<HR>Originally posted by chays99:
A small, white image loads until the regular icon loads up. Sometimes it takes a couple of seconds for the icons to load, sometimes they all load immediately.

Thanks,
CH
<HR>

chays99,

We had some problems with Dells doing something similar. The drivers that Dell had provided for the video cards were out of date. So, you might want to see which driver version you have and check the Dell (or video card makers) web site to see if there is a newer version available.

------------------
D.
Old 12-19-00, 01:59 PM

Thanks guys.

I will try to clean up some of the icons when I go home for lunch to see if that helps.

I will also check the drivers.
Old 12-19-00, 02:31 PM

I also have a Dell computer and exactly the same thing happens to me sometimes when I start the computer.
Old 12-19-00, 03:22 PM