Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Blu Ray on Macbook Pro

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Blu Ray on Macbook Pro

Old 08-02-09, 05:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blu Ray on Macbook Pro

Hey everyone, I am a big time movie fan, and have a decently sized DVD collection. The thing is I am a broke college student who doesn't have a tv. I watch all my DVD's on my Macbook pro, but I want to start purchasing blu rays as new releases come out. I realize blu rays dont play on macbook pros, but is there any kind of way to hook up any kind of blu ray player to my macbook pro to view them on it? I am not very technological, so I apologize if this is a silly inquiry...

thanks for your time
Old 08-02-09, 06:35 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Re: Blu Ray on Macbook Pro

I don't know if there is software that will play blu ray movies in OSX. If you find one that does then just buy an external blu ray drive.
Old 08-02-09, 06:59 PM

i can't seem to find any software for it... so i guess I cannot.
Old 08-02-09, 09:41 PM

I believe your only option is buy an external Blu-Ray drive and then to run windows (via Fustion, Parallels, etc) and watch that way. There are no drivers for Blu-Ray for macs (yet?).
Old 08-02-09, 10:00 PM

ok, thank you. It seems like it will end up costing more to do this then to buy a decnet tv and player... I might as well just do that
Old 08-02-09, 10:30 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Well you can BURN a BD on a Mac but you can't currently watch movies you buy from the store. Hopefully Apple gets with the times.
Old 08-03-09, 07:23 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Final Cut Pro has Bluray capability built in and there are rumors that it's coming to the consumer models soon.
Old 08-03-09, 03:35 PM

thanks guys, ted- ill check those links out tonight when I am free
Old 08-03-09, 03:49 PM
X
Administrator

Received 48 Likes on 39 Posts