DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Tech Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/tech-talk-10/)
-   -   Is there a way to assign a percentage of bandwith in a router? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/tech-talk/530293-there-way-assign-percentage-bandwith-router.html)

AlainDelon 04-25-08 03:32 AM

Is there a way to assign a percentage of bandwith in a router?

I am new to wireless networking and i thought i could use the internet on 2 or more computers simultaneausly and that you could allocate 50kb/s on one port of the router and 100kb/s on another.This does not seem to be possible or is it?The problem is that when my desktop is downloading torrents it locks the internet connection down and i can't connect to any website even though the total bandwith used by u-torrent is usually under 50kb/s while the available bandwith is 200kb/s.So i bought a wireless G router for my new laptop and i can only use the internet if both computers are surfing the web.If one ore the other are used for downloading,the other computer can NOT connect to the internet.Any torrent program seems to suck the whole life out of my internet connection even if it's using only 1/10th of the available bandwith.Any solutions to this?

al_bundy 04-25-08 07:44 AM

check your router documentation about QoS and how to set it up. my ancient linksys has it, and your router should have it as well. it's usually controlled by port numbers

devynal 04-27-08 09:30 PM

What do you mean by 'locking the internet connection down'? Does it become unresponsive or just really really slow?

I suspect you haven't set an upload speed limit for your torrents and thus are saturating the connection.

Dr Mabuse 04-28-08 04:45 PM

the answer to your question on the sharing of internet connection to ports at a set rate is "yes"... but i suspect it will require sophisticated multi-port routers running IOS to accomplish... and this would be expensive, and highly technical to configure the router...