Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Windows can't activate?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Windows can't activate?

Old 07-20-07, 08:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Windows can't activate?

I've been using my new system with Vista Home Premium for a few months and now I'm getting a "Windows is activating" balloon in the lower right corner when I boot. Everything boots fine but then the balloon changes to "Windows cannot activate" and when I click on the balloon I get a screen of chioces that ask me if I want to buy another product key.

I bought this version fair and square from Compusa and would like to know what this means?

Thanks in advance
Old 07-20-07, 09:03 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 20 Likes on 8 Posts
There isn't anything listed regarding calling Microsoft to activate the key?

I assume you're already connected to the internet, right? Only thing I can think of is that it's trying to activate but unable to find a connection. It doesn't sound like it's saying you have an invalid key... does it?
Old 07-20-07, 10:28 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
this is one of the MANY MANY bug being reported with vista... actually not all that uncommon...

did you activate and validate your copy of vista within 90 days?... it will run without you validating it up to 90 days...

this can apparently be caused by security software disabling certain services... that when running on Vista make you vulnerable to intrusion...

or to the failure of the service to run correctly as a flat out bug... apparently surrounding the '90 day grace period' to activate or validate vista... see microsoft is going broke from piracy... lol... so they punish you, who bought a legit copy, and the pirates run all the software they want...

i am sure there are many causes...

i often wonder when the average joe will go open source...