Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Wireless home network - Is what I'm thinking right?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 03-31-06, 11:46 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok, I'm a tech baby so please be gentle....

I have a desktop PC at home and am interested in getting a laptop with wireless capabilities. This is what I'm thinking.

First, get laptop and make sure it has wireless capabilities.

Second, get a router (any suggestions on an affordable one? that is safe and secure?).

Third, install router software on desktop PC and follow instructions.

Is that the ABC of setting up my little network?

I have high speed cable internet and an all-in-one scanner/printer that I would like to use from my laptop. Do you think someone who is not completely tech savvy but has basic computer knowledge can handle this?

Last edited by iggystar; 03-31-06 at 11:52 AM.
Old 03-31-06, 12:32 PM

Hey Iggy,

first - yes, make sure is has "G", most new systems have this.

second - WRTG54g, Linksys, I think they have the market hold, I've purchased 2, going to purchase another. 1 for me, 1 for my sister's family, 1 for my parent's place. We can discuss security later, I use WPA, and MAC address filtering.

third - No software is necessary, just a configuration page you access using a browser, you point to 192.168.1.1 and adjust the router's configuration. This is for a Linksys Router.

YES, you can handle it. If you are willing to try and follow through, you will succeed.
Old 03-31-06, 01:08 PM
Stealth Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1) What Barney1234 said.

2) What Barney1234 said.

3) What Barney1234 said.
Old 03-31-06, 01:24 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Belkin has pretty cheap stuff and I've never had any problems with performance or security. You can get them at Comp USA.