Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

APC UPS setup advice

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

APC UPS setup advice

Old 03-20-06, 11:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
APC UPS setup advice

I recently bought an APC Battery Backup 800VA/540W (mfg link: http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...e_sku=BR800BLK). It has 4 battery backup inputs & 3 surge protection only inputs. The unit has AVR.

I have never used a UPS before, so I'm looking for advice as to what to hook up in which (batt. backup vs surge only). See below for a list of equipment...

Dell Dimension 8400 (3.2GHZ, 1GB Ram)
Dell E193FP 19" LCD flat panel monitor
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 speakers (200 watt total; 130, 2x35)
DSL modem
Wireless router

I am looking for protection against blackouts, brownouts, etc; ability to do normal shutdown if power goes out. Not worried about system staying up to work on - just want it up long enough to shut everything down properly. Although, I do have a laptop that could be used if the modem & wireless router were still up.

What would the optimal setup be?

Last edited by adumbc; 03-21-06 at 05:14 PM.
Old 03-21-06, 12:25 AM
mbs
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Put the computer and monitor on the battery backup inputs. The others can all go on the surge only.

And be sure to use the USB cable and APS software to automatically shut down in case of power outage. That way if you are not around, it'll shut down Windows on its own.
Old 03-21-06, 04:00 AM
DVD Talk Legend

I'd plug the modem and router into the battery as well, so if you're doing something online you have a chance to finish what you're doing or, as you said, use your laptop if you need to. The outlets are there, so why not use them?
Old 03-21-06, 09:15 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts