Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

digital camera help for gift <$450

Old 09-14-05, 12:01 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

digital camera help for gift <$450

i am thinking of buying my fiance a new digital camera for a wedding present so that he can use it on the honeymoon (to Spain!!). i am interested in knowing those of top quality, good price, good zoom capability, etc.

i think i saw him checking out the new (?) Canon Easyshare V-series (it has a burgandy color option)??? i don't really know anything about it...

can you great minds make some suggestions, recommendations, give me advice, whatever, i am just beginning my search. and if there are some new things coming out it has to be before Oct.8. i would like to keep the price below $450.

Cheers!!
Old 09-14-05, 12:14 PM
HN
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Canon SD400 (or the just released "upgrade" SD450) for compact/portability/bring with you anywhere (yet still with a decent amount of features

or

Canon S2 for features and more control (not dslr sized but significantly bigger than the "compact" line of cameras)

Last edited by HN; 09-14-05 at 12:16 PM.
Old 09-14-05, 12:37 PM
DVD Talk Legend

SONY DSC-P200

$339 - good price (Dell somtimes runs specials with it at $304)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16830150057

and a review to back it up
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_.../p200_pg5.html

I currently own an older canon (S-45), I have been very happy with it for two years. I borrowed a friends Sony P200 one day and now I am going to buy one
Old 09-14-05, 12:39 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Seconded for the SD400/450. For $450 you could probably get the SD500/500 as well.
Old 09-14-05, 01:00 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition