Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Did I set up My wireless network correctly?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 08-09-05, 06:06 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to the wireless thing, the network will have 3 computers total, mine which is a direct connect, and 2 laptops connected wirelessly.

I got a netgear 54mbs 802.11 g router.

On it I did the following,

Changed the password,

Enabled MAC address filtering, (I tested it and it works)

Turned off "UPnP ON"

And Enabled Automatic WEP 128bit encryption

Changed Network Name

Both Wireless Router Radio and SSID Broadcast are enabled by default.

Everything Else I left on default.

Is there Anything Else I should do, or not do? Should I use WPA instead or WEP?
Old 08-09-05, 06:09 PM

Yeas

use wpa instead, it's not perfect, but better than wep.
Old 08-09-05, 06:09 PM
X
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
WPA-PSK is preferable. Turn off SSID Broadcast if your computers don't need it.
Old 08-09-05, 06:18 PM
Retired

Of course you might not have the option for WPA on certain wireless adapter cards. I know mine doesn't and you have to get a fairly expensive one (from a quick search I did at bestbuy.com) to get a card that has WPA.

It seems like most integrated wireless adapters have WPA support though.

Last edited by Josh Hinkle; 08-09-05 at 10:43 PM.
Old 08-09-05, 06:18 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Thanks, for your quick responces

What do I have to do to the other computers, for them to accept WPA? And If one doesn't is cappable of WPA, then should I use WEP? Also how would I find out if they need SSID?
Old 08-09-05, 06:19 PM
X
Administrator

My $10 Motorola USB G adapters have WPA and every recent one I've seen has it.
Old 08-09-05, 06:21 PM
X
Administrator

Originally Posted by MrBob