Reload this Page >

Help installing a new graphic card

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 07-29-05, 04:09 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

I purchased a Dell Dimension XPS Gen 5 desktop last week and I requested the upgraded Video card that Dell offers which is the 256MB PCI ExpressTM x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) ATI RadeonTM 850 XT Platinum Edition.

However, when I received my computer, I found out that Dell had installed the 256MB PCI ExpressTM x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) NVIDIA® GeForceTM 6800 instead.

Dell is forwarding the new graphic card next week, so that's no problem however, I need assistance in removing the current card and installing the new one. The Dell booklet offers some insight on how to do the switch but is not very clear. I have no experience in removing and installing hardware from computers. Will it be easy for me to do the installation myself?

If I go ahead and installed it myself, do I have to remove the current video card driver before physically removing the card from the computer?

I'll appreciate any comments/advice you can give me in this matter.
Old 07-29-05, 04:18 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I would hope you will get some instructions with the ATI card if not you might try there web site. They would probably have the manual for downloading (.PDF file) and that should have insturctions for installing.

It would be best when you are ready to install the ATI card to remove the drivers for the Nvidia card and then shut down and switch cards.
Old 07-29-05, 05:08 PM
DVD Talk Legend