Reload this Page >

How to secure Wireless router and Card

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 10-26-04, 10:44 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My wireless router is D-Link DI-614+ and my wireless card is Buffalo WLI-CB-B11 Wireless LAN Adapter.
I tried the manual and I lose connections and have to reset the whole router.
Any sites or advice on doing this?I am new in this.The Router is connected to the company's line where I can Print on the Lan Printer and access the net.
But not connected to the network of the company.So no one can access my files and I cannot access theirs.I am just worried someone from outside might be accesing my router as I have not secured it.
Old 10-28-04, 12:50 PM
DVD Talk Hero

change the SSID

disable broadcasting of SSID

enable MAC filtering

enable WEP

you may have to do a firmware upgrade to make WEP work. in some of my old Linksys crap the WEP didn't work properly without the latest firmware
Old 10-28-04, 01:16 PM
Banned

Of those, only:
-change the SSID
-enable WEP
are actually necessary. The other two don't provide any extra security above and beyond these.

-disable broadcasting of SSID
This just makes it so that the network doesn't automatically appear in the list of networks when Windows shows the list. However, if somebody has a tool to crack the WEP, it'll show the SSID easily, and all they have to do is to type it in.

-enable MAC filtering
This prevents cards from connecting to the access point unless they have the MAC address allowed. However, if somebody can crack the WEP, they'll have access to read the network traffic and can simply clone your MAC and voila, they're in. Extremely trivial to bypass, it's mainly useful for preventing people from accidentally connecting to your network and then only when you're not using WEP.
Old 10-28-04, 06:43 PM
toq

Originally posted by Otto
Of those, only:
-change the SSID
-enable WEP