Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Looking to get DVD Burner, what do I look for?

Old 08-16-04, 06:12 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Looking to get DVD Burner, what do I look for?

I'm a newbie with the DVD burning world, looking to get a good deal on a good product.

I've got a dell machine, operating on XP.

I don't know what the -R and +R dicatates, nor do I know if I need a "dual layer" burner.

Mostly will use for DATA backup, but want something that will allow me to play around and put VHS on DVD (how do I do that?)

Thanks for your help!
Old 08-16-04, 07:02 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Anything by Pioneer is excellent.

J&R has an 8x DVD-R/DVD+R retail box with lots of great software to help you put VHS on DVD. $69.88 after $40 rebate ($4.95 shipping)

newegg.com has a 16x Dual Layer DVD-R/+R OEM for $100 shipped free.

Either of these drives would be excellent.

As for the -R/+R they are just competing formats. Neither one has an advantage over the other. -R have a higher compatability with DVD players than +R. Most new DVD players support both media now. -R used to be cheaper, but both formats are about the same price now.

Last edited by Absolute Zero; 08-16-04 at 07:06 PM.
Old 08-16-04, 07:28 PM
Suspended

OMG. The 108 is dropping in price quickly. You guys do know it's not really a 16x recorder. It only records at 16x at the very end of the writing process. That's why I've postponed buying one until a real 16x comes out.

I would get the DVR-107D or the A07. DL media is wayyyyyy too expensive anyway, and even 8x media is pretty spendy.

Btw, I have a 107D and love it! It's also great for storing large amounts of data. I've cleaned off about 30GB of stuff from my drives, burning about 8 DVDs.
Old 08-16-04, 09:43 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

cool thanks for the input, I was reading the reviews on newegg about this one, what are your thoughts? reviews seem strong.