Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Installing DVD-RW/Hard Drive : Hard ?

Old 05-26-04, 10:42 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Installing DVD-RW/Hard Drive : Hard ?

I'm thinking of adding a new hard drive and a dvd writer to my computer but I have no idea if I can do it on my own or if I should hire a professional to do it.

Is it easy ?

Should I do it if I'm not that experienced with computer hardware ?
Old 05-26-04, 11:02 PM
X
Administrator

Give it a try. Just read the instructions and don't plug anything in until you feel fairly confident you have it right. If you don't force connectors you have a hard time of ruining anything.

You can always hire a professional if you screw it up.
Old 05-26-04, 11:09 PM
DVD Talk God

I've never read a lick of instructions for any drive I've ever installed (2 cd-rw drives, 2 HDs, and 1 DVD-R drive). I've never had a problem.
Old 05-26-04, 11:23 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

I already have two hard drives (1 4gigs and 1 17gigs), will I have enough connections on my motherboard for a 3rd or will I need to take off the 4 gigs one ?

Same thing for my CD-Rom drives, I have an old cd-rom and a cd-rw. Should I take one of these off ?

Thanks for all the advice.
Old 05-27-04, 08:02 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Let me put it this way - I did it and I couldn't put together a basic lego set.
Old 05-10-12, 02:57 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Re: Installing DVD-RW/Hard Drive : Hard ?

I just bought a new HP desktop and want to add a 2nd DVD-R drive. Can I expect that the necessary cables (IDE, power, sound card) needed to hook up the 2nd drive will be inside the CPU casing when I open it up? Or will I need to buy them separately?
Old 05-10-12, 03:06 PM
DVD Talk Legend

It'll be unlikely to have an IDE cable since everything is SATA these days. IDE cables are cheap though.

Make sure the motherboard has an IDE connector though. I think you also could use two sATA-IDE adapters - one for data and another for power.