Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

E-mail forwarding question?

Old 05-26-04, 04:11 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

E-mail forwarding question?

I was told I have a very limited amount of time for access to my old University e-mail. I have been using this e-mail on a regular basis since I graduated (may 03) but now they say they are closing my account since I am not registered anymore. However, they are giving me access temporarily so I can retrieve my e-mails and transfer them to one of my other e-mail accounts.

The problem is that I have about 250+ e-mails in there that I would still like to have, but I dont want to have to go into each individual e-mail and forward them. Is there any possible way to selelct a group of e-mails to forward at once or forward an entire folder to my other e-mail account?
Old 05-26-04, 04:36 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Depends on your mail client. Outlook can select all messages and forward them.
Old 05-26-04, 05:02 PM

Well, I would like to transfer the e-mails to my Outlook but right now they are on my University Webmail, from what I recall, I do not think you can group them with regards to forwarding them.
Old 05-26-04, 05:15 PM

I would check with your university IT staff to find out if they have a pop server you could use to download the messages into a client such as outlook. This would allow you to download them all in one big batch, then delete the emails from the university system.
Old 05-26-04, 05:15 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Does the University's webmail have POP3 or IMAP4 access? Can you ask the client services group on campus how best to archive this?
Old 05-26-04, 05:24 PM
toq

It might be possible to forward the messages from your University webmail account—again—depending on the webmail system that they use.
Old 05-26-04, 06:38 PM

Originally posted by Tsar Chasm