Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Which flavor of Linux should I load?

Old 02-19-04, 12:58 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Which flavor of Linux should I load?

I finally got off my duff and ordered a new windows machine. So the kids can now stop complaining about the old one crashing and being too slow. I would like to convert the old one to Linux so at least it will be of some use.

I am so confused about the different flavors and basis' of Linux. I've nver used Linux before but I've been a Unix programmer for 20 years (ATT System V, Solaris, BSD). Which flavor would be best suited to my experience? Which do most of you use (that do use Linux) and why?

Thanks.
Old 02-19-04, 05:06 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Suse and Mandrake are good for beginners, although since you have all of the experience with unix you might interested in some of the other distros such as Debian, etc.

See this thread:

http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthr...hreadid=325556

Last edited by Alvis; 02-19-04 at 06:56 PM.
Old 02-19-04, 05:45 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Thanks Alvis. I hit upon that thread before I started this one but ended up more confused about which might be best in my situation. I noticed that you seem to have tried a few of the more popular ones. Maybe I'll just get my feet wet with Mandrake as you suggest. Unix programming is one thing. Installing, configuring and kernel tuning is whole nother art form.
Old 02-19-04, 07:11 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

download knoppix. it's basically debian linux that boots from a CD. it has about the best hardware detection i've seen, and you can play with it without danger of messing up your system. if you decide to install it, within minutes you can have a debian system up and running. (i had tried about 5 times to get debian on my laptop, and repeatedly failed... knoppix worked like a charm).

distros i've tried: