Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

making my own blog site. how do i implement cgi?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 01-12-04, 08:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have never used cgi before. i want to make a blog on my own server, using some kind of blog cgi script.

question 1: how do i implement said cgi script on my host?

question 2: what are the best blog scripts?
Old 01-13-04, 12:01 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Location: Bartertown due to it having a better economy than where I really live, Buffalo NY
server will have to support cgi. if it's something like Apache running on your own computer this won't be a problem, but if someone else hosts your site you'll have to find out if they suport cgi. A lot of places make you go through some hoops to get cgi privileges.
as for the script itself, it can be written and compiled into an exe file if you want to use a language like C or C++ or it can be a script using something like perl or php.
I only have experience writing basic C cgi programs. a guestbook is going to be my next cgi project
Old 01-13-04, 12:02 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Having recently tinkered with this same thing (and being as new to it a month ago as you are now), I can probably give you some good advice.

First: Use MovableType. It's free and excellent. Once you go through a few steps to get it installed, it's just like running any web application. Interface is very clean and a joy to use.

Second: Be prepared to spend some time with the install. And you'll probably make a mistake or two, so set aside a day when you feel relatively patient and not easily frustrated.

As for specific instructions - it goes something like this: