Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Please help me put together a home theater PC

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 12-17-03, 03:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I am not a hardware expert. I heard that a HTPC will offer better picture quality than normal DVD player. Would you guys help me put together one (I can assemble the parts by myself). I have about $800 to spend. Here are my requirements

1. DVI out from the graphics card. I have a TV (720p) that will accept digital DVI signal.
2. A sound card that will pass through the DD or DTS signal to my receiver. My receiver can handle 6.1 signal.
3. A dvd drive that can be modified as region free.
4. A second VGA out.
5. A software to play the DVD.

I will be installing XP Pro (from MSDN Universal) for this PC. I don't care whether it is a Pentium or AMD.

Thanks.

Edit: It would be nice also to have a "quiet" case.

Last edited by hoyalawya; 12-17-03 at 03:53 PM.
Old 12-17-03, 04:01 PM
X
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
What TV do you have? What are the parameters of the DVI signat that it accepts.

I haven't done a DVI connection, I use VGA. I do know some sets are very picky about their input signal.

If you are only going to pass DD and DTS any sound card with a digital connection matching your receiver's will do the job (except for an early SB Live card). You can use a $20 cheapie. It's only if you want analog out that you have to be concerned.

The Pioneer DVD-120S is a nice slot-load drive that can be made rigion free. Toshibas as also highly regarded. Check here for firmware. http://pioneerdvd.rpc1.org/

The video card you get will probably have DVI and VGA out. ATI cards are generally regarded as being the best for HTPC. The 9600 series is the latest, most cost-effective line. Which model depends on whether you want to do gaming or play MS HD WMV files. That will also affect your choice of CPU power.