Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Building a System, need to check conflicts

Old 06-02-03, 09:02 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Building a System, need to check conflicts

Ok, I'm in the process of trying to build a PC. I have some experience (installing video cards, drives, etc.) but I've never actually built a computer from scratch, CPU, motherboard, and everything. So my eyes sort of glaze over when i'm reading about FSB, DDR, etc. I was tempted on several occasions to just get a Gateway or Alienware, but their prices are way too much for me, so I slogged on through here. I have done some research, and I hammered out a system here. It's a 3 GHz P4 w/ 2.5 GB of RAM and a Radeon 9800 w/ 256 MB.

NewEgg

I plan to use this system for digital video capture and editing, networking, CG rendering, audio production, and (of course) games. So, a few questions:

1. Is everything compatible? Are there no conflicts? I am pretty sure the motherboard and processor will work together, but the RAM is especially confusing me.

2. Am I missing anything important? The first run through, I forgot my Firewire card and a heatsink- I hope I'm not missing anything else. I know there might be a lot of little parts (like the heatsink) that could slip my mind.

3. Any better parts recommendations? I've done some scouring, and this seems to be the best I can get (I overran my budget by 500, but I can live with that.)

4. Finally, the way I gauge my computer's power is by how long I can run the latest games at the highest detail and quality. With this system, how long do you give me? 2 years? 1 year? 3 weeks?

Thanks, I hope someone replies

Last edited by RolloTomasi; 06-02-03 at 09:06 PM.
Old 06-02-03, 09:15 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Looks good other than the 5 sticks of RAM - you sure the mobo can handle that? It probably can since you specified 2.5 GB RAM, but it would be nice if Newegg provided a link to each part...
Old 06-02-03, 09:26 PM