Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Please help with external hard drive question

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 02-04-03, 09:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I recently bought a hard drive and an external enclosure to make an external USB hard drive and it isn't working right. The components:

- Maxtor 80MB 7200 RPM Ultra Series HD with 8MB Cache

- an unidentified name brand USB 2.0 external enclosure found here:

http://www.basoncomputer.com/spec.as...&PageID=131396

- Dell 1.7 GHZ P4 with WIndows XP Home

I got the drive installed into the enclosure and it powers up and then the driver installs ... but the drive does not appear in my list of disc drives. I've never used an external drive before, but I would think it should show up there in My Computer, right?

OK here are some other questions:

- Should the hard drive be set to slave or master?

- I assume I need to run MaxBlast to format the hard drive, but it won't recognize the new drive either. Do I need to go into BIOS?

- The enclosure is a USB 2.0 drive, but I only have USB 1.1. I assumed that I'd be able to use it, just at a much slower speed, isn't this right?

- I already have two hard drives and two CD drives ... will I be limited in the number of IDE ports I have? This is being connected through USB, so I didn't think it would matter.

Please help! Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 02-04-03, 09:13 PM
X
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
What OS? You may have to go into Computer Management->Disk Management to partition and format.

- Master would probably be the setting

- Depends on your OS

- You can use it with USB 1.1 but it will be a dog.

- It has nothing to do with your other IDE devices
Old 02-05-03, 08:10 AM