Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Help with buying a pc notebook

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 11-18-02, 10:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a crappy compaq destop but I am a writer and want something I can take with me; something portable.

I am really getting turned on to the Apple Ibook. Is this a good purchase? Any pro's or con's with it? any other suggestions?

thanks
Old 11-18-02, 10:53 PM
DVD Talk Legend

First, what is your price range?

Do you plan to use the laptop as a replacement of the desktop too?

What is the most weight you're willing to deal with before you say it's too heavy?

What features are you looking for?
Old 11-18-02, 11:00 PM

Well since I will be financing I would say that about 1500 will be the top range of my money spectrum.

The lighter the better. Thats one of the plus of the ibook I guess; i hear it is almost feather light and also thin.

I am not too picky on my features. I just need something mobile because I want to be able to write in more places than my apartment and be able to take it to my bed at night to do work.

I am not a game fanatic but want to be able to play some games on my laptop.

My current pc is also very slow and it annoys the heck out of me so I do want something fast although I do not necessitate that it be lightning fast. (I hear that the Ibook's processing speed is one of its shortcommings???)
Old 11-18-02, 11:24 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Sorry, I do not know a thing about Apple computers.

I have a Sony VAIO SR7K... very small and light weight. It's quite old now Check out the Sony VAIO SRX Series
Old 11-19-02, 12:26 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Try the Dell series of laptops.

http://www.dell.com/us/en/dhs/produc..._notebooks.htm
Old 11-19-02, 01:53 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition