Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

upgrade: processor or graphics card?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 10-04-02, 08:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i'm looking to upgrade my system, but i'm not sure what to start with. i'm running a 1.2 ghz pent 4 with a geforce 2 pro. i've only recently found problems with slowdowns when playing brand new games. (mafia, gta 3, etc.) and even those aren't terrible. any suggestions as to what to upgrade first?
Old 10-04-02, 09:06 PM
X
Administrator

Received 55 Likes on 46 Posts
Good question!

I think a 1.2GHz P4 is pretty punky. I don't think they really got going until they approached 2GHz. I'm not an expert in the relative benefits to games of upgrading a GeForce2 to something faster. But a GeForce2, in my opinion, is pretty darn fast.
Old 10-04-02, 09:44 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 13 Likes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the Forums!

Hmm... that's a tough one. What about your memory? How much you got? You could get more memory and overclock it a bit. I'm not quite sure abut your current card, another thing is it could be a heating issue. Some people say that adding another fan has helped their gaming.
Old 10-04-02, 10:39 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 40 Likes on 31 Posts
Well, eventually you're going to need to upgrade both, as I'm sure you're aware of. I think you'll get more life out of your GF2 by upgrading your processor to, like X suggested, 2 GHz or higher. Your processor will very soon be the bottleneck of your computer (and may already be).

Something you could consider is upgrading the processor right now, and then waiting until the NV30 comes out, which will lower the prices of the existing GeForce4 cards. If you do eventually upgrade your video card, I recommend a GeForce4 Ti4400 or Ti4600, which should last you a good while.