Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Need to update BIOS ........help request

Old 09-11-02, 12:42 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Need to update BIOS ........help request

Id like to update my BIOS and wondered if anyone had any tips and/or could help me out.
I have had this board for about 3 years now and I have never done it before and have no idea what I'm doing.
Some people have said it is easy,some people say it is a nightmare.
I have heard of horror stories from messing up the BIOS to frying the BIOS chip and being screwed!

The board I have is the ASUS A7V-133

Any help and/or advice would be appreciated.
Old 09-11-02, 12:49 AM

well, depending on your OS, you definitely need a boot floppy disk, with preferably 98 on it, and the bios file copied over to it.. make sure you have the right bios loader (award, or ami, or whatever).. make sure you got the right bios for your board, etc.. and you might want to check with local computer repair shops to see if they do bios repair/updates to see if they can do it for you (or to recover your original bios if something goes wrong).. I have one about two blocks away that does it for 25 bucks, which saved my last motherboard when i used the wrong version of the bios upgrade utility (make sure of that too, some versions are incompatible with some boards)

It's really not as hard as it sounds, but things can go wrong, so be careful about it
Old 09-11-02, 01:08 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

I'm on XP Pro and do have a 98' boot disk.
The place that I had build my PC wants $50,but if anything were to go wrong I suppose it's worth it.
Maybe I should just fork over the money so if anything goes wrong,it's their A$$ !!!

Thanks for the tips though!
Old 09-11-02, 01:33 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Re: Need to update BIOS ........help request

Originally posted by VHS?
Id like to update my BIOS and wondered if anyone had any tips and/or could help me out.