Reload this Page >

Questions re: Macs, Final Cut Pro, and Final Draft

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 08-15-02, 12:32 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

any help anybody can provide will be greatly appreciated!

as an aspiring filmmaker, i am looking into obtaining the proper hardware and software required to do it all myself... so these questions are for those of you who know about Macs and the programs Final Cut Pro (FCP) and Final Draft (FD)...

i am sticking to macs alone because they are generally considered the best for the programs in question (especially considering that FCP is a Mac exclusive program! )..

anyway,

1) can FCP run on G4 Powerbooks?
1a) if so, would you recommend against it anyway?(i.e. should i stick to a G4 desktop for FCP?)
also, you can assume that if i were to run FCP on a powerbook, i would be using an external memory device.
1b) if FCP can run on a G4 Powerbook, would it be safe to also put FD on the same computer?

2) iBooks versus Powerbooks, benefits and costs. debate. (this question is only relevant if FCP is better for G4 desktops...)

i'm sure i'll think of more questions as the discussion progresses..

assuming it progresses!
-di doctor-
Old 08-15-02, 09:02 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
FCP will run on G4 powerbooks, and you can daisy-chain a camera and a firewire hard drive to the powerbook's single firewire port. As long as it's a quality firewire case (Oxford 911 chipset), you should be fine.

I would imagine you would have no problem running Final Draft on the same machine.

iBooks can also run FCP, but since they have the non-altivec enhanced G3 processor, they will be slower at rendering transitions, effects, titles, etc. The G4 powerbook's wide screen will be better for editing, since the timeline can stretch further across the screen.