Reload this Page >

CD-RW media question

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

CD-RW media question

Old 08-02-02, 12:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CD-RW media question

Hi All.
I'm new to DVD talk but would appreciate any educated input. I just purchased a Cendyne 32x12x40 CDRW drive (aka LiteOn) and for immediate purposes a few Sony CDRW blanks 4x speed. The Cendyne came with Nero 5 (I believe that's the correct version). In order for me to record to the CDRW's, I have to format them (which takes 40 to 50 minutes apiece). The drive will not recognize them any other way.

Is this normal? Do you always have to format CDRW's before use?

Forgive my ignorance,
Bygraceonly
Old 08-02-02, 06:22 PM

Bump

Help!
Old 08-02-02, 06:59 PM

Bump because I got the same drive this week. Can't beat $50 - a $50 rebate .

Sorry I can't help you as I've never burned a CD-RW. I always do CD-Rs becasue they are only about $0.10 a piece, making them disposable if I want to "rewrite."

By the way, I assume your drive came with a "blank" CD. Is that a CDR or RW.
Old 08-03-02, 08:10 AM

It's normal to take a long time to format a cd-rw. You only need to format them once, then they can be used and erased without the need to re-format.

With Nero you can burn a cd-rw like a normal cd-r to make a readable disc, but you won't be able to "drag and drop" files as if you formated the disc.
Old 08-03-02, 10:15 AM

agent2099
The CD that came with the drive was a CD-R if I'm not mistaken.
It did burn without formatting. I was wanting to use the RW format because my wife is a teacher and I wanted her to have room to change lesson plans and such easily.

daledude
So that does mean we'll have to format each RW to use it easily with data. OR is there a more efficient way to simply put text files on the disk?