Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Question about upgrading to Windows XP..

Old 06-29-02, 11:37 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Question about upgrading to Windows XP..

I have ME now and I want XP. My ME came installed on my PC when I first got it and I do not have any of the CDs at all. Can I just buy the XP upgrade version or would I need to get the full version? Also, is it a pain to change the OS? I have never done that before.
Old 06-29-02, 02:37 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

hmmm. you can get the upgrade version but I personally hate to just overlay a new OS on top of an existing one. Now you can do a clean install off of an upgrade disc if you have a previous version of windows to put in during the install process to prove you have a previous version. However, I don't think your PC recovery disc will cut it.

But if you have a full prior OS (like win95, 98 or 98SE) laying around just get the XP upgrade and do a clean install. If not, I say buy the full version and do a clean install that way. or option #3 is to just buy the XP upgrade and lay it on top of winME (but that sounds like trouble to me... )
Old 06-30-02, 02:04 AM

kind of a similar question... i just got a new laptop with xp home installed, but i found out i need xp pro. i already spent the past couple days installing new programs and transfering files over to it, so i would prefer to not do a clean install. would installing xp pro over xp home be ok, or is it worth the time to do a clean install?
Old 06-30-02, 10:54 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Originally posted by Shuki
hmmm. you can get the upgrade version but I personally hate to just overlay a new OS on top of an existing one.
I've always, always been a stickler about this too. But I got XP free (campus Microsoft event) a few months back, and my notebook was immensely loaded with apps and I didn't have time to clean install.