Reload this Page >

Need help setting up slave hard drive.

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 06-18-02, 04:35 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok, this is my first time adding a hd. I've only put in graphics and network cards before.
I'm trying to add a slave hd a western digital 20 GB hd. The wd hd is an old one from my old PC, I just want to use it as storage for now. BUT I'm having some trouble figuring out the jumper settings and the cable ribbon connections. I'm using Win 98SE.

Here's an overview of what it looks like in the bootup:

Primary Master: Maxtor 4GB hd
Primary Slave: None <---- that is where I want to put the new hd.
Secondary Master: Creative Lab 52x CD drive
Secondary Slave: AOpen 16x DVD drive.

I looked at the ribbon cable setup, the p. master was connected at the end of the cable while the other end is connected directly thru the mobo, and there's another avl. connection in between so I plugged that pluh in and during bootup, it failed to recognize all the IDE drives, and asked for a system disk, which I don't have.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Ranger; 06-18-02 at 04:38 PM.
Old 06-18-02, 05:05 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Make sure the jumper on the WD is set to slave. Plug in the IDE cable and the power cable. When the computer boots up go into the bios and set it up to detect the hard drive either automatically or manually. Save settings and restart. Windows should recognize the drive. If this doesn't work try checking the IDE cable to make sure it is plugged in securely. I've had experience where the cable became slightly detatched from the motherboard, but it wasn't noticeable to the eye. I had to push it back in. These are my suggestions. I hope they help.
Old 06-18-02, 06:59 PM
DVD Talk Legend

I don't see where I can set the slave mode on the wd hd. I only see three outlets, one for the IDE, the middle one I'm not sure of, and the power outlet.