Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Best blank CD-R's

Old 05-18-02, 04:05 PM
Banned

Best blank CD-R's

Hey all....

We've hit panic mode...

I've been making Mix cd's of music for the past 4 years. I popped one of them in today to find that it had rotted. 8 of the CD's have all rotted!!!!!

Some of them are completely unplayable. Some have started to rot from the beginning and end but the middle songs are playable. Is this the usual way things rot?? I'm assuming that there's no way of saving them. I DO, however, want to back up ANYTHING i can and use a more reliable brand.

I think what I had been using is Imation and they had a yellow bottom. I've never had any problems with blue or green bottomed cd's but if ANYONE has any advice as to which kind I should be buying or which to DEFINITELY stay away from, I'd appreciate it.
Old 05-19-02, 03:35 AM
DVD Talk Legend

The first thing you need to know about blank CD-R is that it's virtually impossible to tell what company actually made it based on the name of the company selling it. A lot of companies these days are trying to be more competitive by rebranding cheaper CD-Rs made in Taiwan by companies like Ritek and CMC Magnetics, both of which are kind of shaky.

I've found that one helpful tool is CDR Identifier, available free for download here. It's a small utility that will read the atapi layer and tell you what factory manufactured the CD-R in your drive.

That said, everything I've ever read has indicated that Mitsui is the absolute best and most reliable manufacturer of CD-R out there, but they are expensive. They cost about 65 cents each.

Close behind Mitsui is Taiyo Yuden. Very, very good and reliable, and more affordable.

Basically you want to look for CD-Rs that are made in Japan, not Taiwan. I currently buy Fuji in spindles of 50 at Best Buy for $22. They're made by Taiyo Yuden and I've never had a problem with them.