Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

MCSE Win2K

Old 05-11-02, 11:23 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

MCSE Win2K

Anyone else here hold this certification? I just completed mine yesterday.

I hope it was worth the effort and expense!

RD
Old 05-12-02, 12:28 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

To make your MCSE 2k worth the time and effort you have to put much more effort getting that first job and making that cert work for you. IMO, I think that getting certified is the easy part (not a flame) but getting into the industry can be much harder depending on your personal background and the industry that you are trying to get into. If you have no connections, no degree and no motivation to chase the opportunities then a cert won't help you much.

I did the Oracle 8 DBA cert and when I finished the bottom of the IT industry was going through major corrections .... now the industry is turning around. Good thing I have my degree so i'm working which keeps me busy but i'd like to access the IT sector someday soon. You can never stop learning the various complimentary technologies. I'm still learning Solaris and networking technologies myself.
Old 05-12-02, 12:53 PM
DVD Talk Legend

It's worth it if you have the skills and experience to back it up. Otherwise, you are nothing but a paper MCSE. Sorry if I offended you but I've seen too many paper MCSE think they know it all.
Old 05-12-02, 07:24 PM

I've been doing development for Microsoft platforms for several years, and I wanted to get a grounding in how their systems work as a whole. For too long, I was narrowly focused on C++ programming.

In addition to the MCSE cert, I hold the MCDBA and MCSD, along with a 2-year credential from a tech institute (for which I was given 2 years credit towards a BSc degree).