Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Oww Digital Camera Q's. Canon G2/S40

Old 05-03-02, 02:03 AM
Video Gamer Reviewers

Oww Digital Camera Q's. Canon G2/S40

?

Well?

I just ordered a G2 and realized for almost half the price I can get a S40.

I'm just getting into taking pictures and such like that. The G2 is already on the way and the S40 I can pick up anytime. I know they are both the same in terms of 4 MP, 3x OP ZOOM, 3.6x DIG ZOOM... S40 is half the weight of the G2.

The G2 accepts interchangable lens, flashes, etc. It also has the flip out screen, manual focus... etc.

I want to be able to take really really really good pictures, but I'm I don't want know how good. I'm still a novice camera. My first camera was a FujiFine Pix 1300. Though the first camera (yes, first camera) I used was Nikon Coolpix 8xx. Older 3 MP camera.

Any suggetions would be great. Thanks.
Old 05-03-02, 03:00 AM
Stealth Moderator

I own the G2, and I love it. It's a more serious camera than the S40.

The G2 has a better lens. It's a brighter/faster lens at f/2.0-2.5. The S40's lens is f/2.8-4.9. At the widest angle, the G2 gathers in twice the amount of light (1 f-stop) as the S40. At the telephoto end, the G2 gathers in four times the amount of light (2 f-stops). If you need to know what this means, ask (or check out photo.net).

The flip-out screen is a great feature. You can take pictures of yourself (by flipping out and flipping over) easily. The flip-out protects the screen when not in use. Also, since you can tilt the screen, you can take pictures above people's heads or you can take pictures by looking down into the camera.

Another thing is the weight. You want more weight on the camera so that you can hold it steady. Lighter cameras are convenient, but that is not a good feature in a camera.

BTW, the S40 also has the manual focus feature. It is not just on the G2.

More later.
Old 05-03-02, 07:13 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition