Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

challenge for hardware buffs

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 04-30-02, 10:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a master 5400 maxtor with an imb 7200 slave. I was a fool to configure it that way but thats how it ended up after I bought the newer 7200 harddrive.

Windows ME is installed on the 5400.
W2K installed on 7200.

Problem 1:
How do I physically switch master to slave and slave to master? I changed the Pins on the harddrives and a "NTLDR is missing" came up on the screen in DOS when I restarted.

Problem 2:
I want to reformat both drives so that only W2K exists..

Thanks for anyone who takes up this challenge hehe.
Old 04-30-02, 10:37 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

if you're going to reformat, i'd just put things back the way they were and back up everything you want saved. you can reinstall all the software, but your data etc etc etc.

then i'd worry about formatting and getting them set up. i don't know much about win2000 but i'd guess that if you set the 7200 as master and reformat-reinstall, it'll work fine.

something that helps me is to deal with the simplest setup possible... so if you're doing the reformatting etc, just deal with the 7200. leave the 5400 on the desk somewhere. once you've got win2000 working fine, then add the other HD. there's probably no real reason to do it, but it just helps to troubleshoot any glitches that come along IMHO.
Old 04-30-02, 10:48 AM

I have backed up everything and am ready to go.

The problem is with the harddrive. I know how to reformat my original harddrive that is the 5400 since I dont have to do anything with the plugs/pins. However I dont know how to replace my the master 5400 with the slave 7200 and *then* reformat.

Also can anyone tell me whether I need to do anything with the BIOS if I replace the 7200 drive with the 5400?