Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Domain Hosting

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Domain Hosting

Old 04-26-02, 11:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Domain Hosting

Anybody have any opinions of a domain host? I would like to pay no more than $10.00 per month (are there any hosts that charge around $5 as I am just a poor college student) preferrably and I really don't need any bells and whistles : about 10mb space (or even less, but at least 5mb but could settle with 5mb cheaply), unlimited email forwards, 1 pop email account and ftp. Thats just about it as it is only going to be a personal site. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Old 04-26-02, 11:24 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

It's a bit much, but for $7.77/month, you can't beat www.powweb.com

200 MB Storage
100 POP3 E-Mails
Yourname.com
Community Forum
12 GB Transfer
FrontPage 2002 Ext.
WebStats
SSL, MySQL, PHP4
Control Panel
99.7% Uptime
24/7 FTP Access
2 Months FREE
Web-Based E-mail
Old 04-26-02, 11:26 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Just found this though:
http://www.2mhost.com/2m/details.2m

$1.50/month for:
Linux RedHat 7.2 Operating system
Apache 1.3.20
24/7 Server Monitoring
OC3 Connectivity to Servers
%99.9 Uptime guaranteed
www.YourDomain.com
No ads or copyrights, ..
50Mb Disk Space
10 PopMail accounts
10 SubDomains (separate FTP accounts)
3 Mailing lists
Unlimited transfer
Unlimited AutoResponders and Aliases
Old 04-26-02, 11:30 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

http://www.affordablehost.com/hosting.shtml

1 e-mail account, 250 MB space, 500 MB transfer a month for:

$20/year

Stats Package & FormMail
Custom Control Panel
phpMyAdmin, PHP, mySQL
Access to Raw Logs
Free domain name (Opt. 3 or higher)
Customer Discounts
POP *and* SMTP Email
Browser Access WebMail
Free Shopping Cart Install
CGI, SSI, FTP & more!

There's a lot more cheap hosts out there - none of which I've had any experience with. Try www.hostsearch.com for more.