Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

How hard is it to install a hard drive??..

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 04-23-02, 03:57 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am looking to get a second hard drive for my computer. It would NOT be the main drive for the system. It just to store music and scanned pictures. How hard is it to install? I have installed cd drives before. But, I am not a computer expert. I have basic knowledge.

Thanks!
Old 04-23-02, 04:09 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Assuming you have another connection available on your IDE Bus cable. You would set the jumper on the new hard drive to be a slave. If you don't have another connection available you will need to get a PCI IDE controller card. If that is the case then you would want to set the jumper on the drive as master.

You would want to go into the BIOS of your PC (usually hitting F2, F5 or F8 when you turn your computer on). In the BIOS you would want to set that there is another drive on the primary IDE Bus.

Most hard drive manufacturers include a software pack to install, partition and format the new drive for you. You would just boot to that media and go through the wizard. Maxtor has excellent instructions and software for their hard drives and their support is very good too.

If you dont have install instructions or software you can use the Windows Manager in Win2000 or WinXP to install, partition and format the drive.
Old 04-23-02, 04:27 PM

It's extremely easy nowadays. Most retail HD's even come with utitlities that will format the drive for you. But since this is a secondary drive that you will not be installing an OS on then it should be cake. All you need to do is format it, set it as a drive on the same IDE chain as your main HD and that's it.

Set the new HD as a slave by changing the pins on the back and connect it to the primary IDE.