Reload this Page >

Anyone using wireless networking?

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 10-16-01, 04:37 PM
Mod Emeritus

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The boss would like for me to find out the ins and outs of wireless networking... cost, range, stability. Anyone here familiar with the currently available products?
Old 10-16-01, 05:20 PM
X
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Yes.
Old 10-16-01, 05:23 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Well, I've been using it for about two years now, but it's at home so it's not the most sophisticated setup. If you do searches using 802.11b, wireless ethernet, and WECA Wi-Fi as keywords, you should turn up lots of general information about the technology. There are some older and proprietary wireless technologies, but the standard that's really mainstream now is 802.11b.

It's sort of hard to comment on cost, range, and stability without knowing more specifics about your requirements. The technology is fairly mature now so that drivers are solid, interoperability within WECA certified products is excellent, and prices are very reasonable for products in the SOHO category.

There are lots of little issues that users need to be aware of before deploying a wireless network in a business environment. For example, one minor concern is that 802.11b shares the same 2.4 GHz unlicensed frequency range as many other wireless devices including BlueTooth. So, depending on what other wireless devices may be in use, you could experience interference problems.
Old 10-16-01, 06:08 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Ask and ye shall receive.

Dave
Originally posted by X
Yes.
Old 10-16-01, 11:38 PM
Mod Emeritus

Originally posted by X
Yes.

With all the out of work comedians due to the poor economy, I get stuck with you!