Reload this Page >

Computer problem - help me...

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 09-27-01, 03:38 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a PC tech and I have the magic touch with everyone's computer but my own. Mine is always screwed up in one way or another.... here's my spec:

Biostar M7VKB Motherboard
AMD Athlon Thunderbird 800Mhz @ 800Mhz
256MB Kingston PC133 Ram
(also tried 128MB generic PC133 Ram)
MSI GeForce 2 Pro 64MB DDR AGP
(also tried ATI Radeon 32MB DDR)
(also used to have a Hollywood Plus DVD decoder)
Onboard Sound
Deer 400W power supply
13GB IBM Deskstar HD @7200
18GB Western Digital HD @7200
Pioneer 12X DVD Rom
Plextor 8/4/32a CD-RW
Hitachi 19" Monitor
Win98SE - Fresh Install on IBM drive (Fdisk, Fdisk /mbr, Format)

My problem is that whenever I go to play a 3D game, the game will crash and I'll have to restart. Upon doing so, scanregw will alert me that windows has to shut down to repair the registry. Sometimes clicking ok will bring me back ok, but more often, clicking ok just makes it worse - so I shut it down and wait for awhile and try again. Eventually, I'm able to get back into windows in a stable environment.

I've tried all kinds of drivers from supported to generic to leaked betas and nothing seems to help. New video card didn't work. New Ram didn't work. Pulling cards didn't do any good either. I've pretty much run out of options. I'm thinking it's the motherboard, but it seems to work fine when I'm just in 2D apps. Just the 3D apps cause me problems. I've tried changing mobo settings and the result is always the same regardless.

Any ideas? I don't want to buy another motherboard so I hope it's not that. What else could I be missing - ever heard of this problem before?