DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Streaming Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/streaming-talk-75/)
-   -   How often do movies/TV shows get removed from Netflix? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/streaming-talk/624171-how-often-do-movies-tv-shows-get-removed-netflix.html)

taffer 12-18-14 12:29 PM

How often do movies/TV shows get removed from Netflix?

I am new to the whole streaming thing, but I just found this article.

http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/12/...nuary-1st-2015

It mentions a lot of movies are getting removed from Netflix on January 1st. Does this happen often with movies and TV shows getting removed? Why does it happen? That's a lot of movies listed in the article, and it really is discouraging me from getting into streaming. I don't see how streaming is ever going to replace physical media when crap like this happens. What if I want to watch a movie and it's no longer available? Digital media is never going to replace physical media because of that very reason.

RichC2 12-18-14 12:56 PM

Re: How often do movies/TV shows get removed from Netflix?

Originally Posted by taffer (Post 12338032)
I am new to the whole streaming thing, but I just found this article.

http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/12/...nuary-1st-2015

It mentions a lot of movies are getting removed from Netflix on January 1st. Does this happen often with movies and TV shows getting removed? Why does it happen? That's a lot of movies listed in the article, and it really is discouraging me from getting into streaming. I don't see how streaming is ever going to replace physical media when crap like this happens. What if I want to watch a movie and it's no longer available? Digital media is never going to replace physical media because of that very reason.

It's the same thing as programs expiring on On Demand, or why HBO plays the same old movie 20 times in a 1 month span and then not again for a year: Licensing.