Search
Streaming Talk The Place to talk about streaming video and audio

The Roku Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-19, 01:35 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 230 Likes on 158 Posts
Re: The Roku Thread

I believe I already login into those other channel panels with my other credentials (Hulu, Amazon, etc.) I know I can access Showtime, CBS, HBO directly from the homepage or through Hulu, Amazon.
Old 01-31-19, 01:53 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 870 Likes on 392 Posts

Think of it like Roku is a 3rd party vendor selling you access to other premium channels, Starz, Showtime, etc.

Hulu does this. I don't know how Roku will work, but when I got a discounted HBO subscription via Hulu, I could also log directly into the HBO app with my Hulu credentials.

Amazon sells access to premium channels too.

Personally, unless they offer a discount I wouldn't buy from a 3rd party vendor. I would just buy directly from the provider. There is no benefit to me to have my bill in "one place".
One benefit these vendors push is the ability to use their app to search/play content you have a subscription to in one place. Personally for me, I prefer the native app of the provider. Especially when it comes to Hulu since their audio is not 5.1.
Old 01-31-19, 04:08 PM

Received 27 Likes on 17 Posts

Originally Posted by IDrinkMolson
Think of it like Roku is a 3rd party vendor selling you access to other premium channels, Starz, Showtime, etc.

Hulu does this. I don't know how Roku will work, but when I got a discounted HBO subscription via Hulu, I could also log directly into the HBO app with my Hulu credentials.

Amazon sells access to premium channels too.

Personally, unless they offer a discount I wouldn't buy from a 3rd party vendor. I would just buy directly from the provider. There is no benefit to me to have my bill in "one place".