Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

Working for Best Buy, Staples, and Office Depot: opinions?

Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Old 08-25-10, 06:04 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this thread, so feel free to move it.

I was wondering if anyone here could give me a first hand (or close to it) opinion of what it's like to work for Best Buy's Geek Squad and Staples' & Office Depot's in-store I.T. departments. I am just about done with college (all I have left is about a week or so on an internship, then I'm finished) and what I've been hearing from people, and what I know to be a fact, is that I'm not going to find a job right away and might be looking for months. I majored in Computer Information Systems and was told by my supervisor at my internship that as long as I stay relevant to the field I majored in and continue looking for something better, it doesn't matter where I get my first job.

Please keep in mind I am not looking for permanent work at these three places. I just need a job in the I.T. field for a few months while I look for something better and so I have some money coming in. These also are not the only places I'm looking at; I'm looking at every I.T. job I can find in my area and these three stores are just three other places I'm looking at.

So, what are your opinions? Should I think about applying at Best Buy, Staples, and Office Depot or not even bother?
Old 08-25-10, 06:09 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 84 Likes on 72 Posts
Re: Working for Best Buy, Staples, and Office Depot: opinions?

My advice has always been that you never know where you'll end up on a career path, so don't be afraid to take a job that isn't exactly what you're looking for, especially when you're just starting out. Every job can be a great learning experience and create valuable contacts.