Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Paypal premier account question

Old 03-18-03, 02:08 PM

Paypal premier account question

I have been using a personal Paypal account for a couple of months now to accept payment for my ebay auctions. There hasnt been a charge for this... until now. I just had 2 auctions end, that were paid for by credit card, and now I find out on the Paypal site that I cannot accept these payments without upgrading to a Premier account and being charged a 2.9% fee +0.30 for each transaction! I understand the need (desire) for Paypal to charge for its services, but I didnt even get notice for this! Is there anyway to get around this? I am a small time seller, and paying these fees on the limited transactions I do limits what I can make from my auctions.

Just curious if anyone else knew about this and had any advice.
Thanks!
Old 03-18-03, 02:22 PM
DVD Talk Legend

There really isn't any way to accept credit cards via Paypal without paying the Paypal fees. As there site says (and it has been this way for some time now):

Personal Accounts
Send money for FREE
Receive money for FREE (non-credit card payments only)
Can upgrade to a Premier account at any time

Premier Accounts
Send money for FREE
Low fees for receiving money
No limit on receiving credit card payments
Exclusive customer service hotline 7 days a week
Special tools for sellers
ATM debit card for select users

Paypal is accepting the credit card on your behalf - and, as any store or restaurant owner will confirm, there is always a fee when a credit card is accepted.

Old 03-18-03, 02:26 PM
Banned

why would you require a notice from Paypal. The info is their on their website, nothing new, no secrets! if you do not wish to pay
their service fees for having a Premier account, stick with the basic account.
Old 03-18-03, 03:20 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition