Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

best place to sell used dvds?

Community
Search
Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-01, 10:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would like to get some recommendations on how to best get rid of some of my used DVDs. I have about ten that I'd like to get the most money for with the least hassle. I know about ebay and half.com. Are there any better suggestions? Should I sell them in a lot or individually?

Thanks,
Matt
Old 11-24-01, 08:54 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I generally use eBay and rarely have I been disappointed in the final selling price. I know alot of members use Half.com but I have no experience with that. I always sell individually but I refer bidders to my other auction so they can save on shipping. If all the titles are very popular you'll be fine with a big lot. But with many unknown or less common ones, it may hold the total bidding down.
Old 11-24-01, 09:36 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

eBay would be my choice if you're trying to get the most $$$ out of your discs.
Old 11-24-01, 09:53 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Ebay...........
Old 11-24-01, 10:52 AM

I usually use Amazon to sell mine. Yeah, you take a pretty big hit in commission, but they allot a shipping charge that covers media mail, and (for me this is the major plus) you're sale is quick. Most titles I'vd listed have sold in 24 hrs. or less.
Old 11-24-01, 11:09 AM

I sold 2 boxes of DVDs to www.sellmydvds.com and was very happy with what I got. Go to their site, type in the titles and you'll get an e-mail back next business day telling what they'll pay for each. Then send them one, a couple, or all. Both times I've received payment within 10 days of sending the discs.

A lot less hassle and time than auctioning them off. At least give them the list and see what they offer...
Old 11-25-01, 12:09 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition