Reload this Page >

fantasy baseball draft strategy

Sports Talk Discuss all things Sports Related

Old 03-31-10, 09:36 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does anybody have a quick and dirty fantasy baseball draft strategy for a newbie?

I got roped into playing fantasy baseball this year and I've never done it before. I've been playing fantasy football for years and I think have gotten pretty good at drafting. Of course it's mostly luck, but I also go into the draft with some kind of strategy and the last couple years I've come out with pretty good teams. I just don't know anything about baseball and don't know what a good draft strategy is. Load up on pitchers? Load up on homerun hitters?

We start one player at each position plus 5 starters and 2 relievers. 6 hitting stats and 5 pitching stats. Can't remember all of them, but it seems fairly balanced although from what I hear, offense is more important.

Can anybody just give me a real brief idea of what to look for at the draft? When to draft a catcher? When to draft backups? Relievers before starters? Stuff like that. Thanks a bunch. Oh by the way, I just found out the draft is tomorrow.
Old 03-31-10, 10:07 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Re: fantasy baseball draft strategy

There's a lot of compression at 1B - Pujols, Tex, MCab are the top 3, but there are Votto, Morales, Youkilis, Morneau that will give you performance very close but a few rounds later.

There are a lot of outfielders, especially with speed. I like Julio Borbon this year a lot (leadoff hitter Texas, lots of steals). Other outfielders I like, Franklin Gutierrez, Carlos Gonzalez (and Dexter Fowler), Carlos Quentin, Josh Hamilton, Jay Bruce, Nolan Reimold, Jason Heyward. There are also some interesting values out of slightly older guys - Manny, Beltran, Damon, etc.