Sports Talk Discuss all things Sports Related

MLB scoring rule last night question

Old 09-29-06, 09:55 AM
  #1  
Challenge Guru & Comic Nerd
Thread Starter
 
Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: spiritually, Minnesota
Posts: 33,982
MLB scoring rule last night question

In the Twins win last night, the game winning hit was a ground rule double with the bases loaded.

Now I understand that any normal hit besides a home run only counts as one run in a walk off situation like that, but for some reason I always imagined that a ground rule double would score two runs.

Even a single does not necessarily win the game, the runner could have fallen, etc. And the runner from third tagged so the game was not over until after the ball had bounced over the wall.

Anyway, just a little observation. A home run in that situation scores all 4 runs, a ground rule double should score 2 runs IMO.
Trevor is offline  
Old 09-29-06, 10:15 AM
  #2  
DVD Talk Legend
 
LurkerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The People's Republic of Boulder
Posts: 21,668
how important is that, really? the batter got credit for a double, he gets credit for the game winning hit. He misses out on 1 RBI and the guy on second misses out on a R. Not worth worrying about, IMO.
LurkerDan is offline  
Old 09-29-06, 11:20 AM
  #3  
Challenge Guru & Comic Nerd
Thread Starter
 
Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: spiritually, Minnesota
Posts: 33,982
I'm not worried, just curious.

And the batter only got credit for a single btw.
Trevor is offline  
Old 09-29-06, 12:18 PM
  #4  
DVD Talk Reviewer
 
Shannon Nutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 15,876
Did the runner from third score BEFORE the ball bounced over the fence? That's probably why only 1 run was counted and the batter was only credited a single...if the ball is still in play and the runner crossed the plate, game's over before the ball goes over the wall.
Shannon Nutt is offline  
Old 09-29-06, 12:37 PM
  #5  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Shackled
Posts: 35,372
Originally Posted by LurkerDan
how important is that, really? the batter got credit for a double, he gets credit for the game winning hit. He misses out on 1 RBI and the guy on second misses out on a R. Not worth worrying about, IMO.
We should only post about important stuff?
Bushdog is offline  
Old 09-29-06, 12:43 PM
  #6  
Challenge Guru & Comic Nerd
Thread Starter
 
Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: spiritually, Minnesota
Posts: 33,982
Originally Posted by Shannon Nutt
Did the runner from third score BEFORE the ball bounced over the fence? That's probably why only 1 run was counted and the batter was only credited a single...if the ball is still in play and the runner crossed the plate, game's over before the ball goes over the wall.
I might be wrong, but I am pretty positive that the runner tagged and was nowhere near the plate when the ball bounced. Actually, let me look at my DVR again, hold on.

Yep, it was even one of those slow bounds to home plate with the whole team waiting for him around the plate. The ball definitely bounced over the wall before he got home.

It is just one of those baseball rules that a ground rule double is only credited as a single in a walk-off situation.

Not important, but interesting to me. I like quirky rules.

Oh, that reminds me, we almost had a free kick to win an NFL game with no time left on the clock last Sunday. Also with a bizarre "we decline the penalty, oh wait, one minute later, now we accept the penalty" situation. I might give that its on thread if it wasn't discussed already.
Trevor is offline  
Old 09-29-06, 02:38 PM
  #7  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Columbia, MD, USA
Posts: 11,126
It might be that the runner from second simply didn't score. As in he didn't run and touch home plate. Let's say you hit a walk-off game winning HR. Score tied and one man on. By hitting the HR, you score the game winning run (man on base) and yourself. But you actually have to run the bases. Occasionally guys will get excited and stop after they get to first since the winning run has came in, in which case they'd just get a single despite hitting the ball over the fence.
Jericho is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.