Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Sports Talk
Reload this Page >

Does anyone remember this double play? (rule book question)

Sports Talk Discuss all things Sports Related

Does anyone remember this double play? (rule book question)

Old 09-22-06, 09:10 PM
  #1  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 2,902
Does anyone remember this double play? (rule book question)

I remember seeing this on a highlight reel from the late 1980s-- it was an MLB game (maybe '87-'88... I don't remember the teams).

Here's what happened:

0 or 1 out (I don't remember exact number of outs, and it doesn't matter), man on first. The batter hits a soft bloop up the middle, and it lands on a fly on the bag. It then bounces off the bag, and directly into the second baseman's glove. The second base ump signals "out." The second baseman then flips to first base for the second out.

I remember it being called a double play, but I would think that the fielder needing to be "in posession of the ball" (a key phrase in the rule book) would be in effect here. Anyone remember this happening? I haven't seen it or heard about it since then.
Dave7393 is offline  
Old 09-24-06, 05:25 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 892
The second baseman got the batter out (not the runner) by catching the ball before it hit the ground, just like if it had bounced off the umpire's head. Throwing it to first he got the runner out when he was trying to tag up, not by beating the batter to first.

That's my take anyway.
RandyM is offline  
Old 09-24-06, 06:48 PM
  #3  
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wheaton MD
Posts: 16,215
Originally Posted by RandyM
The second baseman got the batter out (not the runner) by catching the ball before it hit the ground, just like if it had bounced off the umpire's head. Throwing it to first he got the runner out when he was trying to tag up, not by beating the batter to first.

That's my take anyway.
Is that a ground rule? Other places in the park do not count the same. For instance, a ball that bounces off the backstop or off the outfield wall is considered to have hit the ground in most (or all) parks. I would assume it's the same for other fixed objects (although I know that rafters vary from park to park).
matta is offline  
Old 09-25-06, 12:06 AM
  #4  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 2,902
Originally Posted by RandyM
The second baseman got the batter out (not the runner) by catching the ball before it hit the ground, just like if it had bounced off the umpire's head. Throwing it to first he got the runner out when he was trying to tag up, not by beating the batter to first.
I hadn't considered that the second baseman got the batter out, but that might explain what happened. It was such a weird play that I'm surprised it hasn't shown up since then.

As far as it being a ground rule, whatever the answer (regarding a base), it would apply in every park (rafters and walls may vary from park to park, but not the size/location, etc of the bases).

Interesting responses so far. Thanks for the input.
Dave7393 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.