Sports Talk Discuss all things Sports Related

Interesting Question about substitutions (MLB)

Old 05-05-04, 06:36 PM
  #1  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Hail to the Redskins!
Posts: 24,780
Interesting Question about substitutions (MLB)

Let's say that a pitcher was actually a good enough hitter in the *AL* to merit both a SP nod AND start at DH. If he were pulled in the 7th inning as a pitcher, would he also have to leave the game as the DH?
DVD Josh is offline  
Old 05-05-04, 06:40 PM
  #2  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 8,900
I think the DH is seperate from pitching.If he pitched and hit the DH rule goes out the window.
dvd-4-life is offline  
Old 05-05-04, 06:44 PM
  #3  
DVD Talk Legend
 
chrisih8u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: A few miles north of the Cape
Posts: 18,335
Originally posted by dvd-4-life
I think the DH is seperate from pitching.If he pitched and hit the DH rule goes out the window.
I think you are right. If the pitcher is batting, he is not the DH.

6.10
Any League may elect to use the Designated Hitter Rule. (a) In the event of inter league competition between clubs of Leagues using the Designated Hitter Rule and clubs of Leagues not using the Designated Hitter Rule, the rule will be used as follows: 1. In World Series or exhibition games, the rule will be used or not used as is the practice of the home team. 2. In All Star games, the rule will only be used if both teams and both Leagues so agree. (b) The Rule provides as follows: A hitter may be designated to bat for the starting pitcher and all subsequent pitchers in any game without otherwise affecting the status of the pitcher(s) in the game. A Designated Hitter for the pitcher must be selected prior to the game and must be included in the lineup cards presented to the Umpire in Chief. The designated hitter named in the starting lineup must come to bat at least one time, unless the opposing club changes pitchers. It is not mandatory that a club designate a hitter for the pitcher, but failure to do so prior to the game precludes the use of a Designated Hitter for that game. Pinch hitters for a Designated Hitter may be used. Any substitute hitter for a Designated Hitter becomes the Designated Hitter. A replaced Designated Hitter shall not re enter the game in any capacity. The Designated Hitter may be used defensively, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player, unless more than one substitution is made, and the manager then must designate their spots in the batting order. A runner may be substituted for the Designated Hitter and the runner assumes the role of Designated Hitter. A Designated Hitter may not pinch run. A Designated Hitter is "locked" into the batting order. No multiple substitutions may be made that will alter the batting rotation of the Designated Hitter. Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once a pinch hitter bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game to pitch, this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once the game pitcher bats for the Designated Hitter this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. (The game pitcher may only pinch hit for the Designated Hitter). Once a Designated Hitter assumes a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. A substitute for the Designated Hitter need not be announced until it is the Designated Hitter's turn to bat.
chrisih8u is offline  
Old 05-06-04, 11:45 AM
  #4  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,397
What happens if during an inter league game Brooks Kieschnick is the DH. The Brewers then have him pitch an inning of relief in the 7th. Once the new Brewer pitcher comes in the 8th can Kieschnick stay in as a DH?
BrewCrew is offline  
Old 05-06-04, 12:07 PM
  #5  
DVD Talk God
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Directionally Challenged (for DirecTV)
Posts: 122,926
Originally posted by BrewCrew
What happens if during an inter league game Brooks Kieschnick is the DH. The Brewers then have him pitch an inning of relief in the 7th. Once the new Brewer pitcher comes in the 8th can Kieschnick stay in as a DH?

Isn't the rule that if you move the DH to a fielding position (which I assume included pitcher) during the game, you lose the DH and any pitcher must subsequently hit.
Red Dog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.