Sports Talk Discuss all things Sports Related

Baseball Rule Question

Old 04-05-04, 04:21 PM
  #1  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,322
Baseball Rule Question

When a player is tagging a player for an out, does the ball have to be in the glove or hand that tags the player?


ie: a NON FORCE play at the plate, in which the runner misses home and the catcher chases him down and tags him with an empty glove (ball is in his other hand)....is the runner out?
MACD23 is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:24 PM
  #2  
DVD Talk God
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Directionally Challenged (for DirecTV)
Posts: 122,948
No, he would not be out.
Red Dog is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:25 PM
  #3  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Orange
Posts: 7,736
No.

You have to tag the runner with the ball in hand. Otherwise, you could use any part of your body to tag him out.

At least that's how the rule has always been explained to me
Blake is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:25 PM
  #4  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,322
can someone post a clarification or link to the official rule?
MACD23 is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:25 PM
  #5  
DVD Talk Hero
 
El Scorcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 39,628
Need to be tagged with the hand that the ball is in.
El Scorcho is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:26 PM
  #6  
DVD Talk Hero
 
El Scorcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 39,628
A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.


http://www.eteamz.com/baseball/rules...fm?m=1,2,3,4,5
El Scorcho is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:29 PM
  #7  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Orange
Posts: 7,736
A TAGis the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/of...on_terms_2.jsp

(yeah, it's the same as above, but this is from the MLB site)
Blake is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:31 PM
  #8  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,322
thanks, i was sure that was the rule. in a game last year i saw the catcher tag with empty glove and the unsuspecting umpire called him out.
MACD23 is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 04:44 PM
  #9  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Shackled
Posts: 35,372
Originally posted by Blake
http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/of...on_terms_2.jsp

(yeah, it's the same as above, but this is from the MLB site)
You're going to have more faith in the MLB than in eteamz.com?!?
Bushdog is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 06:31 PM
  #10  
DVD Talk Legend
 
kenbuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 20,964
Infield Fly / Dropped Third Strike

Okay, here's one. I understand the Infield Fly rule, when it's called, and that the rule protects the batting team. And I understand the Dropped Third Strike rule (quoted below), but I do NOT understand why the rule is there. Can someone explain the "why"?

6.09 The batter becomes a runner when_ (a) He hits a fair ball; (b) The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out

Also, consider the following scenario. Lead off batter (none out, bases empty). 0-2 count. Pitcher uncorks a wild pitch that's clearly going to the backstop. Batter, knowing it won't be caught by the catcher, intentionally swings (and misses), then sprints to first base well before the catcher can retrive the ball. Is the batter out or safe on first?
kenbuzz is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 06:35 PM
  #11  
Retired
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 27,449
The batter would be safe. Pitcher's gets a strikeout, but no out on the play.

I don't like that rule myself. I think it should be an out and an error, with the runner still getting the base (assuming it wasn't the 3rd out).
Josh H is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 06:37 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 634
Originally posted by MACD23
thanks, i was sure that was the rule. in a game last year i saw the catcher tag with empty glove and the unsuspecting umpire called him out.
Yea everything about that play was messed up, first Byrnes missed the plate and then he just shoved Varitek as he went to retrieve the ball instead of touching home.

Then Varitek came back with the ball and touched him with his glove (and the ball in his other hand).

And the umpire called Byrnes out.

So pretty much everyone messed up on that play.
TopHatCat64 is offline  
Old 04-05-04, 11:24 PM
  #13  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,322
Originally posted by TopHatCat64
Yea everything about that play was messed up, first Byrnes missed the plate and then he just shoved Varitek as he went to retrieve the ball instead of touching home.

Then Varitek came back with the ball and touched him with his glove (and the ball in his other hand).

And the umpire called Byrnes out.

So pretty much everyone messed up on that play.
DING DING DING.....we have a winner. my buddy and i were debating whether that happened or not, and i hate to admit it, but i think it did. i can't believe you knew the exact play was i was referring to.
MACD23 is offline  
Old 04-06-04, 06:10 AM
  #14  
Stealth Moderator
 
namja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: In Transit, HQ
Posts: 24,988
Re: Baseball Rule Question

Originally posted by MACD23
When a player is tagging a player for an out, does the ball have to be in the glove or hand that tags the player?


ie: a NON FORCE play at the plate, in which the runner misses home and the catcher chases him down and tags him with an empty glove (ball is in his other hand)....is the runner out?
So to clarify ...

It's an out ONLY IF THE UMPIRE CALLS HIM OUT. Otherwise he's safe.
namja is offline  
Old 04-06-04, 12:29 PM
  #15  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
DaveNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sacramento (The City of a Beer)
Posts: 6,933
Originally posted by MACD23
i can't believe you knew the exact play was i was referring to.
A's fans know all the painful plays that knock us out of the play offs. jeremy giambi not sliding...tejada stopping and protesting interferience...macha pitch hitting Melhuse for Dye in the 9th with 2 men on...the pain never ends
DaveNinja is offline  
Old 04-06-04, 12:50 PM
  #16  
DVD Talk Hero
 
El Scorcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 39,628
The worst part about Giambi not sliding that one time is that the media sucked off Derek Jeter for months afterwards because of it.
El Scorcho is offline  
Old 04-06-04, 04:07 PM
  #17  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,322
Originally posted by DaveNinja
A's fans know all the painful plays that knock us out of the play offs. jeremy giambi not sliding...tejada stopping and protesting interferience...macha pitch hitting Melhuse for Dye in the 9th with 2 men on...the pain never ends
don't even talk to me about a pain.
MACD23 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.