Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Do you play any instruments?

Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-05, 01:51 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I'd be surprised if this hasn't come up before (did a quick search, so someone can do another and show me how stupid I am for missing it), but just wondering what anyone here plays.

I'm a drummer, sans the rest of the band for the past five years (they're in PA, I'm in MI). I'd consider myself competent, but not great. I can keep time and a beat.

I have an acoustic/electric guitar also, but the furthest I've ever learned are basic chords. Which is more than piano, to which I tried teaching myself briefly, found out I was doing something wrong with my left hand, and that was it. I'd love to learn one day though. I almost bought an upright bass once for the heck of it, and to see if I could do anything, but I waited too long and it was gone and I never pursued it further.

So what music geniuses are out there?
Old 12-02-05, 01:54 PM

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
I can play piano. that's it.
Old 12-02-05, 02:13 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I play drums (as I think I've mentioned a few times before). I play mostly metal (double bass kit), but don't exclusively listen to it. I've been playing for about 6 or 7 years. I take lessons from a guy who broke the records for World's Fastest drummer (hands and feet competition).
Old 12-02-05, 02:17 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Piano and trumpet were the first ones I learned in elementary school and I've pretty much stuck with them till now, I'm 24.