Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

ol' school saturday afternoon kung fu theater

Community
Search
International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-01, 03:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Two-part question (I'm a rookie, so be patient):

Growing up, I would watch the kung fu flicks with very little plot,
definitely no romance, and a whole lot of butt kickin'. Although
the genre has come a long way (CTHD), oh how I long to see the
movies I grew up with. Unfortunately, I was too young to pay
attention to the titles of the movies. Can anyone suggest titles
of these late 70's, early 80's movies?
Plus, it seems as though the climax of several of these movies
occurred when several fighters teamed up against a old man with
long, white hair. Can anyone tell me this actor's name?
I know this is very little info to go on, but I hope someone can help.

Thanks
Old 07-25-01, 04:56 AM

old school

cseaw - as far as movie suggestions, first check the 'newbie' thread here:
http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthr...hreadid=122919

Look at the very first post under the "Old-school kung fu" heading. Those are some solid flicks out now on DVD.

Also, even though it didn't necessarily intend to be, this thread:
http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthr...hreadid=121945

has pretty much turned into the "old-school" discussion thread. There are TONS of suggestions and quick reviews of some awesome flicks in there.

I just started really getting heavy into old-school stuff myself, so I really can't answer your second question. The most recent "villian has white hair" flick I have seen was the DVD titled, "Fist of the White Lotus" put out by Ground Zero. There is a quick discussion of it in the thread above.

Good luck and welcome.
Old 07-25-01, 06:05 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post