Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Amy Winehouse - Back To Black

Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-07, 06:30 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts

One of my Top 5 albums of last year - Amy Winehouse's Back To Black - finally gets a US release tomorrow. I've been listening to it for a few months now and absolutely love it. It's the retro soul album Christina Aguilera wishes she made.

The Entertainment Weekly review of the CD (A-, btw) says that "Addicted" was left off of the album for no apparent reason, which is a shame. But we do get one bonus track - the version of "You Know I'm No Good" with Ghostface Killah.

It's on sale for around $8 at the major retailers this week. For that price, this album's a steal.
Old 03-12-07, 09:09 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I downloaded one track from allofmp3.com before my balance ran out and I loved it. For 8 bucks this would be a CD quite worth owning...thanks for the reminder that this is coming out!
Old 04-11-07, 08:45 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer Emeritus

Received 70 Likes on 50 Posts
All right, so I'm sold on Amy Winehouse, picked up the CD. I have to say, though, that this is some of the worst sound quality I've ever heard on a CD. What's with all the distortion?
Old 04-12-07, 01:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
She was going for a 60's girlband sound, like the crappy "wall of sound" thing Spector is famous for.

Try out her first album Frank. It's more R&B but good nonetheless.
Old 04-12-07, 09:01 AM
DVD Talk Reviewer Emeritus

Received 70 Likes on 50 Posts
Naw, this was recording quality. I understand the sound she's going for, but this is breaking up at the high end. A fault of the pressing, I'm pretty sure.
Old 04-12-07, 11:25 AM
DVD Talk Reviewer