Religion, Politics and World Events They make great dinner conversation, don't you think? plus Political Film

The Official TSA Sucks/Body Scanner Thread

Old 10-19-10, 06:58 PM
DVD Talk Legend

The Official TSA Sucks/Body Scanner Thread

http://www.lewrockwell.com/orig11/roberts-m1.1.1.html

Pilot to TSA: 'No Groping Me and No Naked Photos'

October 15, 2010 – My name is Michael Roberts, and I am a pilot for ExpressJet Airlines, Inc., based in Houston (that is, I still am for the time being). This morning as I attempted to pass through the security line for my commute to work I was denied access to the secured area of the terminal building at Memphis International Airport. I have passed through the same line roughly once per week for the past four and a half years without incident. Today, however, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) agents at this checkpoint were using one of the new Advanced Imaging Technology (AIT) systems that are currently being deployed at airports across the nation. These are the controversial devices featured by the media in recent months, albeit sparingly, which enable screeners to see beneath people’s clothing to an extremely graphic and intrusive level of detail (virtual strip searching). Travelers refusing this indignity may instead be physically frisked by a government security agent until the agent is satisfied to release them on their way in what is being touted as an "alternative option" to AIT. The following is a somewhat hastily drafted account of my experience this morning.