Religion, Politics and World Events They make great dinner conversation, don't you think? plus Political Film

How do politicians intend to create job?

Old 10-03-10, 09:45 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

How do politicians intend to create job?

I responded to another job related thread and got to thinking.

Every politician in the country (Democrat, Republican, Independant, what have you) always goes on and on about creating jobs. "Unemployment is too high. We need to create more jobs." "Vote for me and I'll create more jobs." How exactly do they plan on doing that? I don't think I've ever heard an actual plan.

Jobs are created by employers. Basically you either work for yourself, a small business, a large business or you work for the government. The government can't exactly make businesses hire people. For the most part, the market dictates that. When things are going well, businesses hire people and when things aren't going well, businesses let people go. I'm a small business owner but for the last year or so I've been cutting back on payroll as business as been slow. If and when things get busy again I'll hire more people to keep up with demand but until then there's no way I can hire more people.

There's simply no way a politician is going to create jobs unless he/she can magically end this downturn in economy and get businesses busy again.

I mean really the only way that jobs can be created out of thin air is to just create more government jobs. That's easily doable. The government can create as many jobs as they want. Just hire 4 people to do the work of 2 or create new positions. Other than doing that, what can the government really do to create jobs?

I wish politicians would actually give a detailed explanation of their plan to create jobs rather than just talking about creating jobs. Maybe I've just missed it but I've never heard an actual plan and honestly I'd love to hear what they come up with.
Old 10-03-10, 09:53 PM
DVD Talk God