Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Dealing with long term unemployment...how did you do it?

Other Talk "Otterville"

Old 12-01-20, 06:55 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts

So, I had been working since I was 16. Once I got my AAS in CAD Technology I began a streak of almost 30 consecutive years without a break (not including vacations). I always left my previous job for a better opportunity and had never been let go for any reason (and I've only had 5 jobs in my career, all in the same industry). That all changed in July when I was put on furlough, which 3 months later turned into an official lay off. I'm a Mechanical Designer/Drafter and have spent nearly the entirety of my career in the oil and gas industry and have always weathered the downturns of that industry. Unfortunately, with the oil economy barely recovering from the last downturn the one two punch of Covid-19 and the pissing contest between Saudi and Russian oil interests I suddenly became expendable.

Although I knew we were in trouble as we let go several of out lower payed shop guys I was still shocked to say the least. I was hands down the most experienced in my small engineering group (the company only had 27 employees) and had never had any issues and was responsible for the design and development of two new systems while there. But, according to the owner (who hired me and who was the one who delivered the news) it was a numbers deal and dumping my salary was what they determined was the next step in trying to stay afloat. The next week, the rest of the remaining employees were give 20% salary cuts. Even knowing that, it still bugs me I was let go while an already retired guy and a new hire who had been there a month were kept.